top of page

Thesis Experimentation

Below is a snippet from the development stage of my thesis collection.

My thesis is a celebration of my identity. The collection explores the cultural and societal expectations placed on Women.

In this collection I am drawing inspiration from the Women in my family, from

my Great-Grandmother, my Grandmother and my Mother and how their roles within their families evolved. Through every stage of their life, they have been the backbone of the family, holding us together so gracefully and elegantly.

Daughter, Sister, Wife, Mother, Grandmother all employed beautifully.


For the collection, I developed custom prints, inspired by the motifs on my Grandmother's sari's, an homage to her elegance. I wanted to use traditional crafts to create fresh and modern prints and silhouettes to bridge the old with the new.

Inspired by the sari, recreating the imagery of pleating and paneling by juxtaposing different fabrics and textures.

The youthful spirit, the fun of drapery and the elegance of Indian fashion - explored for contemporary audience.

Gota-Patti embroidery re-imagined with fabric scraps and modern silhouettes.

The strong shoulder represents the strong women I pay homage to, carrying the responsibilities and the family.


This experimentation was incubation, helping me develop my final collection.

The concept is the same, but the end result is a different iteration.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page